ECDO Academy Members

ECDO Academy members

In 2010, the ECDO board made the decision to install an ECDO Academy, an organ to ensure on the one hand the presence of the pioneer ECDO board members and on the other hand to create the possibility for younger members to eventually join the ECDO board.

Only ECDO members can propose new candidates for the ECDO Academy. Each candidate should however be nominated by at least 3 ECDO members. All nominations should be sent to the ECDO secretariat and will be evaluated by the executive committee of the ECDO Board, that in the end will select the candidates for the Academy and present them to the General Assembly for election. Nominations are not restricted to European candidates.

Please use this form for nominations. The form should clearly demonstrate the intentions of the candidate to be actively involved in the ECDO Academy. The scientific profile of the candidate will be considered as the most important criteria for election. This will ensure a strong ECDO Board active in a broad scientific area.

Besides the members of the current ECDO board (see Board of directors), following scientists were elected to the ECDO academy:

In 2011:
  • Wim Declercq (Gent, Belgium)
  • Simone Fulda (Frankfurt, Germany)
  • Thomas Brunner (Konstanz, Germany)
  • Henning Walczak (London, UK)
In 2012:
  • Frank Madeo (Graz, Austria)
  • Shazib Pervaiz (Singapore, Singapore)
  • Eleonora Candi (Rome, Italy)
  • Francesco Cecconi (Rome, Italy)
  • Zsuzsa Szondy (Debrecen, Hungary)
  • Patrizia Agostinis was also elected for the ECDO Academy and was directly elected for the ECDO board
In 2013:
  • Inna Lavrik (Magdeburg, Germany)
  • Marcus Rehm (Dublin, Ireland)
  • Jean-Ehrland Ricci (Nice, France)
In 2014, Nektarios Tavernarakis (Heraklion, Crete, Greece) was elected to be an ECDO academy member.
In 2015:
  • Theoharis Panaretakis (Stockholm, Sweden)
  • Bertrand Joseph (Stockholm, Sweden)
  • Afshin Samali (Galway, Ireland)
In 2016:
  • Marion MacFarlane (Leicester, UK)
  • Pascal Meier (London, UK)
  • Kevin Ryan (Glasgow, UK)
  • Andreas Villunger (Innsbruck, Austria)
  • Christian Widmann (Lausanne, Switzerland)